Dear Marion County Public School Families,

We appreciate the patience and understanding of our families and communities as we plan a safe return to school. Today, the Mayor of Indianapolis and the Marion County Public Health Department (MCPHD) provided the necessary guidance in order to prepare for the 2020 - 2021 school year. While reviewing the guidance from the MCPHD located at www.marionhealth.org, please keep the following considerations in mind:

- 1. The Marion County traditional public schools will continue to follow the ongoing and most up-to-date guidance provided by the Indiana State Department of Health and the MCPHD as it relates to the reopening of schools.
- 2. The MCPHD guidance document is based on current data and could be modified as the data changes.
- 3. These guidelines are the minimum standards and therefore, individual school corporations may develop procedures that are greater than, but not lesser than, these guidelines.

Now that each Marion County public school district has received guidance from the MCPHD, in addition to the guidance in the IN-CLASS report from the Indiana Department of Education, Indiana Department of Health, and the Indiana Family and Social Services Agency, specific guidelines for each district will be communicated directly to families. You can expect to receive this as soon as it is available as we work with our school communities to prepare to return to school on time or offer an eLearning option to those who are unable.

All Marion County traditional public schools will be starting on their scheduled date and will offer instructional options in either the physical school setting or online for students who are not able or are uncomfortable returning to school on the scheduled start date unless directed otherwise.

Thank you again for supporting your Marion County public schools as we look forward to a safe reopening for the 2020-2021 school year.

Dr. Paul Kaiser, Beech Grove City Schools

Dr. Bruce Hibbard, Franklin Township Community Schools

Mrs. Aleesia Johnson, Indianapolis Public Schools

Dr. Matthew Prusiecki, MSD of Decatur Township

Dr. Shawn A. Smith, MSD of Lawrence Township

Mr. Patrick Mapes, Perry Township Schools

Dr. Flora Reichanadter, MSD of Pike Township

Dr. Timothy Hanson, MSD of Warren Township

Dr. Nikki Woodson, MSD of Washington Township

Dr. Jeff Butts, MSD of Wayne Township

Dr. Kyle Trebley, School Town of Speedway

















